ThoraThinks


Zine & Za’atar!
October 26, 2011, 10:41 am
Filed under: food, Happy Thanksliving! coloring zine, making!, VeganMoFo

Hello again! I have some exciting news to share today.
I just finished making my very first coloring zine,
Happy Thanksliving!
  This veg-friendly zine honors turkeys, thankfulness, and fall fruits & veggies in all of their much-deserved glory.  Happy Thanksliving! celebrates and raises questions with a fun, rhyming poem and super-sweet drawings that beg to be colored! I really cannot wait to share this work, and you’ll be the first to know when the zine becomes available for purchase at ThoraThinks.com. (Start sharpening your crayons and colored pencils now… the zine will be here before MoFo is over!) In the meantime, here’s a little peak inside:

(Here’s an interesting article about zines that’s been circulating this week).

It’s important to me that kids have as many turkey-positive books as possible during this time of year, so I’ve been working hard to finish this in time for the holiday. As a result, my meals have been basic. I wish I had a brand new recipe for Caramelized Butternut Squash with Cinnamon-Vanilla Ice Cream and Fancy Shmancy Pecan Crumble or something like that, but instead I’m just going to show you what I had for dinner last night. Leftover beans, greens 3 ways, and za’atar spiced roasted roots. And a little smoothie too! I have so much gratitude for all of this fresh food.

…for those unfamiliar with za’atar, it is a super-delicious Middle Eastern spice blend traditionally eaten with pita and olive oil. It’s very high in iron and rich with antioxidants as well. Ki and I love to toss potatoes and other roots with za’atar and oil before roasting. YUM.

I’m giving away a free, signed copy of Garlic-Onion-Beet-Spinach-Mango-Carrot-Grapefruit Juice this Sunday and entering is a piece of cake.
Show us your Ingvar!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love this sweet and uplifting blog. Thanks Nathalie!

Comment by kathleen wolff

I love YOU, Kathleen. And thanks for giving birth to my farmer. : )

Comment by Nathalie@thorathinks

The za’atar roasted veggies is an excellent idea!

Comment by Sarah

[...] there! Last night Ingvar and I sewed up some new zines (WOOHOO!) while Ki made soup & salad for dinner. It was just what I needed. Simple, flavorful, [...]

Pingback by Soup & Salad « ThoraThinks




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers